Iterate over stages

---

Dear all, 

I'm a beginner in python and I've got a question. 

We want to implement the attached method to all our stages (about 50) (in this example there are just 5). To the best of my knowledge, it is necessary to apply a for-loop and iterate over a list. I think the variable 'stage' in line 13 is a list object, but there is an error message when I insert more elements. Moreover, we are interested in an alternative to manually add the elements. Generally I would apply the method '.append' but this also rises an error message. 

We would be very thankful for your held concerning any hints or solutions! 

With kind regards, 

Christina        

stage iteration request.png

Hello Christina,

this worked for me in a sample project. The range is the number of stages in the project:

# -*- coding: utf-8 -*-

import gom

for i in range(len(gom.app.project.stages)):
	gom.script.sys.show_stage (stage=gom.app.project.stages[i])
	gom.script.sys.restore_point_selection (elements=[gom.app.project.actual_elements['Cylinder 1']]) #insert surface comparison here
	gom.script.selection3d.invert_selection ()
	gom.script.cad.delete_selected_3d_area (reset_deviation_values=True)

Regards,

Nanno

Dear Mr. Muehl,

thank you for the helpful hint. The cut within the surface comparison works. 

Furthermore, we would like to align and cut all stages by a defined plane in one step. We recorded the code and added the for-loop at the beginning to address all stages. Unfortunately, applying the actual script, only the CAD-model is cut and an error message raised. I attached a screenshot. 

Would it be possible to check our code in order to improve the cut of the stages, please.

Thank you very much for your help! 

Christina  

iterate_over_stages_cut_with_plane .png

Hello,