2D comparison

---

Hi,

Could you please help me. What's the best way to compare a 2D profile loaded as a .iges or .stp file with a cloud of points imported from a CMM scan as a .txt file?

I am a beginner and have been trying to approach it for several days but I can't find a solution

Hi Bartłomiej,

What do you want to achieve exactly? Is the CMM scan point cloud the entire surface or just the 2D profile?

In the second case, the best way would be to import the CMM scan data as curve -> https://techguide.gom.com/en/article/cmd_sys_import_ascii.html

Then you can link the imported nominal and actual to perform the checks.

If airfoil inspections are intended, sections are required.
This can be achieved by projecting the imported curves on the section plane ->  https://techguide.gom.com/en/article/cmd_cad_project_points_on_plane.html

Hope this helps.

Best regards,
Sergio

• 2 weeks later...

Thank you Sergio. I would like to achieve map with distance deviations between actual and nominal curves or shape deviation. 
The scan is dedicated to 2d profile (2 axis values).
I can import data to GOM but the problem is how to link nominal and actual profile. I can do only shift actual curve to nominal by manual transformation. 
What kind of measurment principles shoud I use?

Regards,
Bartek

If curves are already imported (not sure it was done in your case, ASCII import as curve can be used for example, see https://techguide.gom.com/en/article/cmd_sys_import_ascii.html), they can be linked by the measuring principle "link to actual element"

Select the nominal curve, apply the measuring principle. On the uncoming dialog set the actual curve to be linked.

image.png.cdc5d183851031492d72f1e45a376fb5.png

Furthermore, to be able to use the  airfoil profile inspection functionality (more information here https://techguide.gom.com/en/article/general_get_started_blade_Inspect.html?serial=0), a section is needed.