T-Scan Hawk 2 Accuracy Issues

---

I recently purchased a T-Scan Hawk 2, and I've been using it for a couple of months. Overall, it has been a very efficient scanner for larger jobs my structured light scanner is unable to do. However, I only recently started testing its accuracy. For these tests, I'm using ball bars with matte white spheres that I sent out for calibration at Mitutoyo America a couple years ago. Since doing so, I've been using these ball bars to verify the accuracy of my Steinbichler Comet L3D 5M and my manual CMM.

From my testing thus far, the T-Scan Hawk 2 has not seemed capable of meeting its stated accuracy of 0.02 mm + 0.015 mm/m. I hope that I'm just doing something wrong and someone can steer me in the right direction. Here are the results I'm getting currently:

For the distance between the sphere centers, I was initially getting deviations as high as 53 microns over a 279.302 mm distance. Prior to this result, I had only performed a hyperscale calibration, so I then performed a full calibration. After doing so, the distance did start consistently measuring within spec, but it is concerning that I may not be able to rely on the hyperscale calibration to inform me whether the scanner will measure accurately.

The measured results for the 2 sphere diameters are even more concerning. Even after performing the full calibration, sphere diameters are measuring consistently more than 130 microns under their calibrated sizes of 25.405 mm and 19.045 mm.

So now I need to figure out what is going on. Again, I really hope I'm just doing something wrong, but I'm not sure what. I've tried recalibrating, I've tried using the scale bars with satellite mode before collecting the measurements, I've tried different scanning resolutions and different scanning modes, but nothing seems to help. I've reached out to my local application engineers to see if they have any ideas, so hopefully they can respond soon.