How to align scanned meshes when targets are around the part

---

Hi!

It's my first time scanning a small part so I wasn't able to set the targets on the part... But now I have a problem when trying to align the meshes.

I have some doubts that I hope the Zeiss community can help me with:

1) How can I align them when obviously the targets are not coincident because i flipped the part to scan both sides? I tried by ctrl+click on almost the same spots on the part and I couldn't do it.

download link for the file: https://www.mediafire.com/file/yxrh7v2bqc6i3ow/CYLINDER_TORNO.ginspect/file

2) If i save the project and close the GOM software, then re open it... where can i reach the tool to align them as the scanner is not connected and i don't have tool in the project guide workflow ? Can meshes only be aligned as soon as i finish scanning them?

image.thumb.png.2fa33bb98a78aa428fe0c962aca32299.png

3) I tried to put the targets on the part (even though i know its a really small part and a cylinder), but i got error from the software/scanner... is this normal? Because since the update to Zeiss inspect 2023, my whole zeiss quality suit has been not working properly.

image.png.a8d1e2d0dcc96d95197d479c4ad28641.pngimage.png.05897c67a5fb26bea0ad1e19dd4686af.png

Thanks in advance!

Quick update:

So i saw in YouTube that people scan both sides as separate files, export the .SRL mesh and then use the alignment tool..

I can only get this error when drag and dropping the meshes into the software...

Can someone help me? 

image.thumb.png.66662b79ebd7e048f7fe9b1791721f19.pngI get 

Hi Luis,

you need at least three reference points on the part, which are scanned in both measurement series. Here is the techguide article:
ZEISS Quality Tech Guide

The alignment of two parts will not give you a single polygonized mesh. (I think you added the imported mesh to the existing part instead of adding it to a new one, which results in the error). 

Nanno